The End is a New Beginning

image

Doing the same thing repeatedly and expecting a different result is well known as the definition of insanity. This comes into play academically and behaviorally. As we complete the “testing season” and final weeks of the year, we as educators should reflect on the decisions we have made to help students overcome learning challenges. We also need to look at how we are trying to change behavior.

Academic accountability
My hope is that all teachers have a great understanding of their students’ success at this point of the year without having a high-stakes summative assessment to know that their students have learned the learning targets established at the beginning of the year. Utilizing a formative assessments to identify if they’re learning throughout the year and be able to assess where reteaching needs to happen weave together seamlessly in learning. This is the point where differentiation takes over, when professionals need to go in change the way that they’re teaching in order to meet the needs of their diverse learners.

Feedback, what to do with it…
Our district believes in getting feedback from students, staff, and families throughout the year. As a part of my assistant principal survey I received some feedback that things were not necessarily where staff wanted them to be. As I’ve had some time to reflect on this I know there are areas where I need to grow as a professional. This is an opportunity to stand up, dust myself off, take a look in the mirror and ask myself, “how do I want to be better”? What can I do to help our students and staff to be the best they can be? I am a servant leader and the support I give to others is critical in student learning.

I hope all of you take the time this summer to reflect on how you can make a positive difference in the lives of students and staff you get to work with everyday.

“Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” – Nelson Mandela

Leave a Reply

